263: Journey Into the Heart of God by Philip Pfatteicher

by Gerard


263.9: Pfatteicher, Philip H. Journey Into the Heart of God: Living the Liturgical Year. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2013. 350 pp. ISBN 978-0-19-999712-1.

Dewey Breakdown:

  • 200: Religion
  • 260: Christian social and ecclesiastical theory
  • 263: Days, times, places of religious observance
  • 263.9: Church year and other days and times

Philip Pfatteicher’s Journey Into the Heart of God is a look at the how truly observing the liturgical can bring one closer to one’s Christian faith. The liturgical year is the calendar of events that leads up to and includes the holy days. For Christianity, this runs through the cycle of Advent, Christmas, Ordinary Time, Lent, Easter, Ordinary Time. Each season is broken down further into seasons where different aspects of Christianity are observed and explored.

The Advent and Christmas seasons of course look more into the birth of Christ and how the ending and beginning of the calendar year tie in with the cycles of faith that Christians experience and the Lenten section deals with the sacrifices and absolutions that come with that faith. The author does well to incorporate not just Biblical texts, but also different writings to further his metaphors, including hymns and passages from Church leaders. We walks the reader through how each verse and teaching can help to better understand the message of the Church throughout the year. Each day of each season has its own verses and lessons. Pfatteicher’s prose is slightly lofty but so are his goals. He wants the reader to grow their faith by getting both closer to the Bible and closer to God. For those looking for a more introspective and organized connection to their faith, this book offers a lot towards that aim.